aniruddha pathak

Ramayana A Game of life

In Uncategorized on March 13, 2015 at 22:10

Mythology has always been a subject that has got me curious. I have loved the characters, the stories shared by granny to put me to sleep. How every character was so super human, multiple heads, some amazing weapons, and yes morals. Thats what it was all about helping us learn to be good humans.

Modern authors have started to write their own versions of mythology, and I find it very exciting, because that means more stories about our own superheroes. Newer angles to look at each character, and form our own opinions of what to take back from the book. So when blogadda presented an opportunity to review “Ramayana: A Game of Life” I happily agreed. Although the book I got the opportunity to review was the second part, I thought let me give it a shot.

download

Title: Ramayana: The Game of Life (shattered dreams)

Author: Shubha Vilas

Publisher: Jaico

Price: 350 INR
Pages: 387
Genre: Religion and Philosophy/ Self-help

I have never read any books before by Shubha Vilas, hence a little bio about him: he is a spiritual seeker and a motivational speaker, holds a degree in engineering and law.

First and foremost one thing that I really loved about the author and the book per se was the footnotes. How beautifully every situation from the story has been connected to a teaching in the footnote. It does help. I would rather take in these pearls of wisdom as I read along than wait at the end of the book. I don’t think many readers bother to read it if its at the end.

The second book, Shattered dreams, is about the dilemma of Dasaratha, his desperate attempt to change Ayodhya’s destiny. His promises. It talks about life and making of Ravana. Every situation in the book actually teaches a management lesson. It helped me relate to real life situations I have faced. The book even suggests solutions, real practical ones at that to deal with every situation.

The book starts with Dasarathas dilemma about whether to go ahead with  Lord Rama’s coronation or not. The story is not different from other retellings of this same epic, but what sets this book apart is the footnotes. The analogies presented by the author is very helpful. It helps to get a perspective of whats been played out in the scene. I will skip the part about the story here because the story stays the same. Its the unique way in which the author has narrated it is what made me like this one.

Its about how one person’s (Manthara’s) wish actually sends an entire empire in turmoil. Some people may find the book way too preachy, and the footnotes might slow down your pace to read it. I enjoyed reading it at my own pace, carefully reading the footnotes as i went along. If that is what bothers you maybe you can skip this one. However if you are looking forward to a retelling of Ramayana, this book is good enough on that front.

Rating: I would give this book 3/5

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

Leave a Reply

