aniruddha pathak

One guy two Stories

In Uncategorized on July 10, 2010 at 18:34

Two real life stories i would like to share. I don’t know why i am doing it, But blog is the best place to let things out of the system isnt it? πŸ™‚ No, Its not a rant.

The background

Mumbai has started receiving its fair share of rainfall already. I always wish it rains only when either i am in office or at home and never when i am travelling. That is all thanks to the municipal corporation that has ensured that they are not going to learn anything from the infamous 26 July and that we will have to keep struggling to reach office/station. Rain has led to the following two short stories.

Story No. 1

I was getting late for my dance class and Sandip is very particular about his time. It was raining very heavy and i had planned to take a rickshaw all the way to station with my colleagues. I had just crossed the road to reach the rickshaw stand when i saw that my colleagues had found a rickshaw and left already. So there i was, left with no rickshaw in sight in the rain.

(There are some parts in Mumbai where connectivity is really poor. My office unfortunately happens to be at such a place. Β After dark getting a rickshaw or a taxi can be really painful. The few rickshaw or taxi guys that you do get to see, just do not want to travel short distances. Bus is an option but its not recommended for the weak hearted. Not at all for women. Well i digress but i think it was important.)

I must have done some good deed that i finally managed to get a rickshaw and as i was trying to get into it, I saw another woman who wasn’t carrying even an umbrella, completely drenched trying to convince the rickshaw guy to take her to the station. It was then that she asked me to drop her on the way, and i agreed.

I dropped her on the way, she tried offering me money for the ride which i politely refused.

Story No. 2

Another day of stupid maddening rain, with no transport available. I was getting late for the class again. After waiting for an hour trying to get a rickshaw that would drop me to my class, being turned down by every other rickshaw driver, I saw 3 girls coming out of office. Just then a rickshaw guy finally stopped and i asked him if he could drop me to the station. At that very moment the girls asked him if he could drop them.

Response from rickshaw driver: “Ladki log baith jao, Sir aap doosra rickshaw kar lo baarish bahut hai”

  1. πŸ™‚ wow – contrasting in some weird way – now i cant put a finger to it!

    and now i want rain so much more!

    Like

  2. Nice. Bombay Monsoons…. Bombay Stories….Could make a great compilation I think, if we could put them all together πŸ™‚

    And the moral of the story!? The girls always get the rickshaws πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. interesting πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Hahaaa…Look at me typing out a comment in the comment section and not word, thanks to a good samaritan; you know, the one that helped the lady above only to get stranded the second time round…. Hmmmm… Maybe God has upped your Karma a notch, cause he has now noticed that you are a good soul??? πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. That was so totally cute πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. πŸ™‚ better luck next rain

    Like

  7. awww how mean .. the rick guy!

    how was dance πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. I enjoyed reading the stories. They brought a smile on my face and reinforced my belief that there is goodness everywhere despite what the govt is doing or not doing.

    Like

  9. Dancing dude ! Rickshaw guy chivalrous..:P
    Nice stories..though i thought you are from delhi..ouch.

    Like

  10. LOL…If there had been a rickshaw girl then you would have got the chance definitely!! πŸ˜›

    when can we see you dance btw??? πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Had this been Delhi, girl would have been oggled at like hell and maybe even molested

    Like

  12. Rains can be pains … πŸ˜€

    Like

  13. So its something like this. One you willingly offered your auto and the other it was taken away. So moral of the story – GIRL POWER!!! hehehe..

    N m not from Mumbai. I wonder y u thought so..Do i have the mumbai walli look πŸ™‚ In fact then last time I was in Mumbai was when I was a wee child

    Like

Leave a Reply

