aniruddha pathak

The other side-II

In story on June 19, 2009 at 06:07

CAUTION:It’s a long post. I tried reducing it, but i could not think of a better end to this chapter. Congratulations to you if you reach the end of this one 🙂

It was spring, when B completed his graduation; he was now waiting for his big chance. B got a job, in the best of the IT Company he could imagine, he was excited, that’s what he has been waiting to do since the time he took up learning computers in school. His dream was to be amongst the best programmers, a technically sound professional who would be quoted 5 years from now in all seminars and books. Wow!!! He thought. He was ecstatic when he got through the final round of interview; he wanted to disclose it to S first:

B: You know what??

S: What?

B: I got through…yay !!!!

S: Oh you did..congrats

B: You’re not happy??

S: I am happy, when did I say I’m not happy

B: But you sound sad, are you sad that I’ll be away?

S: Nooo B but you know this private job thing, there’s no security. That is what my dad says too, you should try for a government posting too you know, may be IAS or something?? Even my brother got a government job you know, his future is secure.

B: But, but you know this is what i love doing. Why do you think IT is not secure? I’m amazed; I thought we’ll have a good future together.

S: Ya but, you won’t understand. Anyways enjoy for now, we’ll discuss it later, ok?

B: Ya ok.

S had killed his excitement. B then called up home to inform, the folks were happy at home, B wasn’t.

Keeping a long distance relationship was going to be tough, B thought. He had now moved to a different city, but he was determined. Determined to be around S, in every way he could. He was not going to be bogged down by the failing relationships he saw around him. He even tried to convince his mates, who were not able to make their relationship work. His mates had a different opinion about B though. They thought he was crazy to not have any expectations from his love.

“All girls need to be loved in the same way as their father loves them. A father does not love her daughter because he expects something, it’s unconditional. If only you guys ever thought this way, you will never feel the pain, just keep loving, I’m sure things will change for good”, said B. He kept trying to convince his mates.

He wanted to make it work, with all he had. He felt guilty at times of neglecting his family for S, but he thought he could always make up later, when he was going to be together with S. 

S was now feeling absence of B; she thought she should move on. B was making every attempt, to make sure S did not feel alone, but balancing his training at first job and trying to make the best impression in office and handling the daily complaints of S was getting too much for him. He decided to make a short trip back home and meet S.

S: Hey meet P; he’s my senior at work here. He’s so helpful.

B: Oh great, that’s nice. At least you have some friends now to take care.

S: Yes B.

P: Congrats B, I think you have made the right choice. I think she’s found the right one too!!

B tightly hugged S. He was happy to be back with S. He was happy that S has some friends to talk to, when he was away.

S: You know when you are gone; I generally hang out with P and his friends. We have a nice group.

B: I’m sure you do. It’s nice to have friends, just don’t forget that you have me too, haha.

S: Oh come on B, I love you so much.

B: I love you too

S: Liar, then why don’t you come back

B: I’m trying

S: Hey what about that MBA thing, you are going to do it right. My parents want my groom to be a Post-grad atleast.

B: I’m working hard. I’ll get through, you just wait and watch.

B returned from his short trip. B was struggling now. Work, S and studying everything were taking a toll on him. T and H his office colleagues were the two people he shared a lot with, and Q , who was B’s own batch mate from college days was always around to support him. Q was a fun loving guy, and it was he who introduced B to the two girls T and H. Seeing B tensed, and overworked week after week, Q, H and T decided they were not going to let B go down like this.

Q: B look what you’ve done to yourself.

B: What, I’m fine Q. I’m perfectly alright.

T:I think you should take a break now, let’s go out somewhere together. All of us. We’ll have a good time.

B: No guys, why don’t you all go together. I don’t think S will like it. If I don’t call her every hour she gets so mad.

H: Oh come on bro, just one time. Why don’t you call up S and ask, I’m sure she’ll agree

B: Ok let me try.

B: I’m planning to go out with H, T and Q. We’ll be exploring the new disc here. How does that sound?

S: Hmm, you know it B; I don’t like you going out with T and H that much. Anyways it’s your life. Why would you care if I don’t like it?

B: Oh come on sweets, it’s not such a big deal you know. I won’t go okay. We’ll go out together when I’m back. Cheers sweets, lots of love.

S: Thank you sooo much, you are so sweet!!! Lots of love back.

B did not like it, but he thought S will change with time.

B turned to T, H and Q. He gestured to say sorry. All his friends were disappointed, when B tried to defend S.

B: Long distance can make any girl insecure, but I thought I have done enough to remove that insecurity

Q: Oh to hell with you and your Love bullshit.

B: Come on guys it’s not that bad. Why don’t you guys go ahead, don’t cancel it for me.

T: Ya we needed it the most isn’t it, this break. You suck.

B was feeling sorry for what he had done. He knew he was messing his life up. Everything would be fine soon, he thought. As fate would have it, that night B got a call from S. It was strange as it was always B who called up S, so to see S calling him, he was a bit surprised.

S: Heylos

B: Ya whats up? How come you called?

S: What do you mean, I always call, anyways you remember P

B: Yes I do

S: P has asked me, if I can join him for the dance fest here. Can I go?

B: Oh when is it?

S: Tomorrow, how does that matter?

B: No, I mean ok go ahead. Is anyone else going or just you two

S: Just both of us, rest of P’s friends backed out

B: Hehe ok, go ahead. Enjoy ok.

S: Sure, you are such a sweetheart. Thanks and take care ok.

B: Sure I will.

Is P going to snatch S away from him? P was in same profession as S, and S had indicated to B that her parents would prefer a guy from same profession. It can’t be, S has always loved him. Why was he doubting his own love now. He can’t. If he has loved S, she was not going anywhere, or was she?

  1. long distance relations can only bloom when one gives all his faith and freedom,don’t let nyone rule ur life or it wud destroy all even bfr u know…….

    Like

    • welcome ifonlyi. I agree, long distance needs a lot of faith. And i appreciate that you talked about freedom too. no relation should ever curb freedom. It stifles.
      See you around here 🙂

      Like

  2. I completely agree with Q- to hell with the Love Bullshit. Wonder when B will understand this. It’s frustrating.

    Like

  3. S has only been taking B for granted.. this is not a well balanced relationship!

    Like

  4. You’re continually whetting our appetites for more now!

    Like

  5. Oh I can’t wait to see how this ends. I think B’s fears are well founded but then I am not writing this story..Heehee

    Like

  6. Well, my view is biased and I’m surprised you didn’t say it in so much words. But then, that’s how it is. And yes, I noticed S didn’t tell B to stop the silliness (referrring to the comment on part 1 of the story) which only compels me to call her a manipulating something-something! 😉

    But one truth that can’t be denied is there ARE people like this and they’re not rare either. There’s actually a lot of them! Guys/ Girls have, it seems forgotten what a healthy compaitble relationship means and all they seem to be content with is good sex or an excellent slave.

    Like

  7. This actually makes me wanna cry. So sad.

    Like

  8. unfortunately relationships are never balanced……….but u gotto live with it
    and thanks ani its a pleasure readin ur blog too…….

    Like

  9. Kahani mein twist! 😀
    Just a question though: why the single letter names!?
    Not only is it confusing, with S, B, T, Q, H…it leads to lesser pronouns 😦

    Awaiting part 3 now 🙂

    Like

  10. its a nice story build up!

    Like

  11. All girls need to be loved in the same way as their father loves them. A father does not love her daughter because he expects something, it’s unconditional. If only you guys ever thought this way, you will never feel the pain, just keep loving, I’m sure things will change for good

    whoever this B is..can i pls marry him!!!

    P.S- i hate S!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

